I’m glad I never got to know you.

The fact that I never got the chance to really get to know you has always been depressing to me. However, as I’ve gotten to know several people in the past few months, I realised that people are always more beautiful and pure from distance. I realised that getting close with people reveals who they really are. The closer you get to people, the more likely you are to get hurt. It’s such a waste of energy and time to get to know anyone. People always seem to disappoint you. Maybe it’s just me, but based on my experience, getting closer with people has done nothing but hurt. You have no clue how much I regret giving people the chance to get to know me just a little bit, intending to finally open up to them. The worst part is that it does hurt. No matter how much I try to act like I don’t care and convince myself that they are not worthy of my sadness and sorrow. The pain still lingers. So what are we supposed to do? Shut everyone out of our lives or should we always give someone a chance to really get to know us and maybe one day someone down the road will actually stick around and never let you down? All I know right now is that I can’t take any more of this at this point. They wasted my time and I shall not give them the slightest chance to waste any more time of my future. The past is where they belong. They were some characters in just one of the chapters of my life and this chapter ended the moment they decided to walk away and act like I never truly mattered to them. For this reason, I’m starting a new chapter in my life, without anyone who has done me wrong in the past. Know your worth, and add taxes to it.

And you. You will always remain my favourite character in this book. Even if our roads will never cross again. I will always be glad there’s someone out there like you. I never really got to know who you are but as far as I’m concerned, I will always hold this perception of you in mind. A picture of some who is sweet, pure and always tries to be the best version of himself. Someone who’s loyal and loving and most importantly, has nothing but good intentions.

Leave a Reply

